To start, please kindly note that once deleting a site permanently, you will never ever be able to re-use its WordPress.com address. In this guide, we will take a look at How to remove your site permanently to help you know more deeply about this topic. If you are completely sure you want to permanently remove your site, here is how to do it.
How to remove your site permanently
- How to delete a Site with Upgrades
- Alternative Options
- How to reverse a Site Deletion
How to delete a Site with Upgrades
Click on My Site (s) → Manage → Settings to go to your site’s settings page
Select Delete your site permanently after scrolling down to the bottom of the Settings page. Kindly note that site deletions are permanent!
On the following screen, the first option to be presented to you is to export your content. Once you remove your site, this content will not be recoverable, so we advise exporting the content to a .zip file before taking any further steps. You can do that job by clicking the Export Content button.
Scroll down to find the Delete Site button after having exported your content. If you have more than one site on your account, make sure to confirm that the correct site address is listed in the yellow alert bar.
Confirm the deletion. Enter the URL of the site (shown in red) into the provided field, then click the Delete this Site button
This is the final step! Once you click Delete this Site your site will be permanently deleted. Now anyone who tries to visit your site will see a message stating that your site is no longer available and has been deleted by its owners.
If deleting a site for ever is not what you determine to do then you can instead try any of the Alternative Options listed down here.
- Change your site’s address and keep your content
- Go to My Site → Manage → Domains and click on your .wordpress.com address.
- On the Domain Settings page, scroll down to Change Site Address.
- Click the input field (with the first part of your current site address as a placeholder) and enter the new address you wish to use.
- We will let you know if the new address is available.
- Click the Change Site Address button.
- A screen with additional details and warnings will appear. Read the information carefully and make sure this is the action you wish to take.
- Check the box to confirm.
- Click Change Site Address.
Once you have got all of the steps above completed, your site will have a new WordPress.com link.
Delete old posts and continue using the same address
Empty your site of all its content for a fresh start and continue using the same address
Transfer your site to someone else
Make your site private so only people you invite can see it
How to reverse a Site Deletion
You are allowed to reverse a site deletion for the first 30 days after a site is entirely closed. If you realize you closed your site in error, please contact WordPress support team instantly. They will be able to assist you in restoring your site during this 30 day window. When the 30 days have passed, all of your site data is definitely purged and of course, cannot be restored, and the site address is removed and cannot be reused.
In case you do NOT want to close your website for ever, you can choose to fully shut down your WP account. For more information, please see the Close My Account page.